To the Vet. Again.

This afternoon I went to the little vet clinic once more, but without a chicken in the passenger seat. We have dosed Mary a few times with the antibiotics. Once in the morning before I let her out, and once at night, before she goes to bed. I wrap her in a towel to keep her still, and attempt several times to hold her head still. Once I get it at the right angle, and she stops squirming, my mother squeezes out a drop in her eye and nostril. Than we repeat for the other side. It is terrifying for me, and I get very worked up about hurting her.

When the vet called and asked if she was doing better, my answer was no. Because her congestion is back in full force, I can hear her rattling breathing. So back to the vet I went, and returned with a bottle of Baytril pills. Now, in addition to the eye/nose drops, I will have to shove a pill down her little throat. My mother is excited to try something new, but my stomach is in knots. This poor, poor little chicken.

Leave a Reply

