No Shopping or Wrapping Required

My mother has requested, as she has every year, a list of gift ideas for Christmas. Every year I am lucky enough to wake up to the smell of homemade cinnamon buns, music, and a slew of neatly wrapped gifts beneath a lit up tree. A time when my family stops thinking about work and comes together in peace to celebrate. I am so grateful for our chance to do just that, which too many other families are unable to do.

This year, my mother is in a flurry of Christmas shopping stress, as she has no idea what my sister and I want underneath the tree. Yesterday I finally responded to her request for a Christmas-List.

“No shopping or wrapping needed- also applicable to birthdays”

Murray

Unfortunately, she didn’t share my enthusiasm šŸ™‚

For those of you that do not know, a “Cayuga” is a duck breed. A lovely black, iridescent duck breed!

I know, I suppose I am pushing my luck here. In all honesty, I am half teasing her, but also very serious. There is no doubt that chickens have changed my life (for the better, of course) and I only want to continue my adventures with them. In the next few years, my girls’ egg production will slow down. It is a sad fact of the modern chicken that they produce eggs very efficiently for their first year or two of life, and then drop off to nearly nothing (at this point, mostĀ farms will slaughter the chicken). Obviously I will not be doing any slaughtering- my chickens are more than just producers, they are pets.

My mother’s main issue is my impending departure for college. Understandably, she doesn’t want to be saddled with a full-scale poultry operation while I’m gone for most of the year. However, I live in an area famous for its many excellent colleges. I am strongly considering a University in which I could live at home and attend class that is just tenĀ minutes away. I don’t think she understands that having three chickens is very similar to having five, as they’re all fed, let out, etcā€¦ at the same time. How else would people be able to keep hundreds in a safe and clean way?

But I’m not asking for hundreds, I am asking for two or three ducks. I have all the materials, all of the knowledge, and all of the enthusiasm. What’s more, I wouldn’t even consider having them shipped until spring, April at the earliest. So she has lots of time to mentally prepare herself.

If we decided (which I very much hope we do not) to give my chickens away when/if I leave, having ducks would make my flock a little bit more attractive. Who doesn’t love the sight of ducks waddling down the ramp in the morning, followed by a trio of happy chickens?

I rest my case. I hope I don’t sound selfish or greedy, just eager and excited. Maybe my nearly two years of meticulousĀ love and care towards my chickens will help convince them to drop the shopping cart and listen to my real wish.

Ā Either way I win, as I am the luckiest girl in the world in my three little hens.

Photo Nov 22, 4 29 37 PM

Leave a Reply

